Relationships.

“It’s Complicated” statuses are the WORST. Also, despite the presence of this meme, the following post is a semi-“Come to Jesus” meeting.

My bursting heart must find vent at my pen.” Abigail Adams once wrote that and it could not be more relevant.

You may have noticed a theme lately in my posts, that of living a good story of a life, and that’s because I was rereading A Thousand Miles in A Million Years by Donald Miller. Well, I finished it tonight and have so much to mull over, so bear with me.

Our souls are so thirsty. Don (I met him once, so it’s totally okay to be on first-name basis) mentioned that concept when sharing the story of how he met his father for the first time after an entire lifetime of abandonment: when his dad complimented his writing, the words were refreshing to his spirit, despite the 30-year relationship lull.

Honestly, it’s very true. We are desperate for that affirmation. Perhaps that’s why such a big deal is made of God saying “Well done, faithful servant” at the end of everything. We thirst for that approval and seek it out constantly. All of it sounds so trite, but that’s because it’s so common in our existences.

Relationships continue to confuse the hell out of me. Sometimes, with some, they make just as much sense as breathing. Other times, I just want to create a law that says “Thou Shall Not Lead Anyone On” because that seriously bothers me. Waste of time. (But that’s another blog post…)

I’m not an expert.

But.

I think that when we separate our thirst for affirmation from finding that guy or girl, life becomes less complicated. I’m not looking to be with another god, that is, someone who makes my life story make sense (or as in Jerry McGuire talk, “completes me.”) …Because God already does that and my life’s ambition isn’t just to fall in love. I’m not sure exactly what it is, but I know that relationships are meant to be like “iron sharpening iron” and living good stories together. All good adventures are with someone else along for the messy, crazy, colorful journey!

One thought on “Relationships.

Leave a comment