Talk that Talk: or, Why I stopped hating on the Olympics

Getting ready for a marathon! …in like 2013.

Four weeks ago, I started running.

I’ve been trying to live a better story as of late, and after my  somewhat polarizing bash of the Olympics, I knew I needed to put my money where my mouth was instead of being all talk. I mean, you can’t criticize a worldwide endeavor without actually doing something counteractive.

Let me take a quick to emphasize how big of a deal this is. It is HUGE. I would always secretly hate people who ran, but mainly because I was super jealous of their commitment. I loathed running my entire life–and contary to popular belief, I was actually quite an athlete in high school. I worked at a gym, helped teach at a yoga camp, taught swimming lessons, and trained pretty much every day for my black belt in Taekwondo, which I achieved in August 2009, right before coming to college as a freshman (My black belt test was over 3 hours long and I had to break 12 boards and a brick.) So yeah, you could say I was kind of legit.

Proof.

Then the summer after freshman year, I had an full-time internship and a part-time job at the movie theater and was too tired to work out. Fast forward to…now.

I’m almost halfway done with my running program and I’m SO proud of myself. I actually really enjoy it now and there’s nothing better than running outside on a beautiful evening with worship songs, Norah Jones, or random French music ringing in your ears. (I obviously listen to very chill music, ha.)

I’m doing the Couch to 5k program, which despite the somewhat embarrassing connotation, it works for me! It’s an interval system, so it’s perfect for running haters. It may be super obnoxious to post about how proud I am of myself for keeping this commitment, but I frankly don’t care. Maybe it’ll inspire you too!

Start living a better story by doing something that kicks my butt? Check! What’s something that you know you should do but just haven’t yet? I dare you to try it for at least three times! (Then you’ll know for sure if you hate/love it.)

(In case you were wondering, I just don’t have/won’t be getting internet at my house, so between spending inordinate amounts of time at Starbucks and the thousand other things on my to-do list, alas my postings will be more on the sporadic side.)

2 thoughts on “Talk that Talk: or, Why I stopped hating on the Olympics

Leave a comment